Tarleton students, organizations, and president recognized at 23rd annual Leadership and Service Awards

By Makenzie Plusnick—

Opinion Editor

Photo courtesy of Tarleton State University Facebook page.

Tarleton State University’s 23rd Annual Leadership and Service Awards were held last Friday, April 5. This ceremony recognizes students, faculty, staff and organizations who have shown exemplary acts of leadership and service throughout the previous year. Many of the awards are named after members of the Texas A&M System and Tarleton faculty and staff who have exemplified Tarleton’s core values.

Lizzie Marshall, along with Katie Kozeny, received the Earl Rudder Award. This award made Marshall hopeful that other students will get recognition for their work at Tarleton as well.

“Getting the Earl Rudder award was a huge deal to me because it finally felt like all my hard work for Tarleton was getting recognized and people were noticing,” Marshall said. “It can be hard when a lot of the same students are getting recognized over and over while others are pushed to the shadows. It was a huge honor because I know there are a lot of behind-the-scene students that do not ever get appreciation for their commitment to Tarleton, so being awarded something that reassured me that my hard work didn’t go unnoticed really made me feel appreciated, and I hope that others get some type of recognition as well.”

Dominic Procaccino, Student Body President, was one of the 12 recipients of the John Tarleton Spirit Award. He attributes the honor of receiving this award to many of the people he has met during his time at Tarleton.

“The John Tarleton Spirit Award has meant the world to me,” Procaccino said. “When I stepped on campus as a freshman, I had no idea where I would be in four years. I have been fortunate enough to get to know quite a few amazing people, and they have all shaped my Tarleton journey and helped me grow into the leader that I am today. I credit this award to them and the rest of the Tarleton family.”

Brendon Gore and Keyontea Cooper received the Sophomore Leadership Award. Gore, the current nominee for vice president of the student body, was excited to have the work he puts in be recognized.

“Receiving the Leadership Award was a true blessing,” Gore said. “Sometimes the hard work that student leaders put in goes unnoticed but receiving the Sophomore Leadership Award really proved to me that my hard work goes noticed,” he said.

Drs. F. Dominic and C. Lissette Dottavio were presented with honorary John Tarleton Spirit Awards. during their last awards ceremony at Tarleton.

Allison Campbell and Desirae Garcia received the Freshman Leadership Award. The Wanda Mercer Legacy Award was presented to Casey Reynolds and Jasmin Trevino. Delaney Olson and Lauren Selph were recognized for their work with the Graduate Student Leader Awards. Christian Aguilar and Juan Garcia were awarded the Impact Awards.

Kennedy Onuam received the Advocate Award, while Dr. Dottavio and Steve Trogdon, son of former Tarleton president W.O. Trogdon, presented Kimberly Eickholt with the W.O. & Flo Trogdon Individual Service Award. The May Jones Advisor of the Year Award was presented to Dr. Beck A. Munsey, the Chi Sigma Iota advisor. The Tarleton Alumni Association presented the Inaugural Gate Keeper Award to Shey Andrews.

The W.O. and Flo Trogdon Organizational Service Award was given to Alpha Phi Omega, who also received the Program of the Year Award for their Boy Scouts Merit Badge Seminar. Alpha Gamma Delta was recognized as the Organization of the Year, and the recent Purple Poo graduates were also awarded with plaques to commemorate their time in the mask.

Tarleton Baptist Student Ministry, the Wesley Foundation, St. Luke’s Episcopal Church, and Texans for Christ received the Senator Robert J. Glasgow Award. Each group was recognized for the free lunches they provide.

The John Tarleton Spirit Award was given to 12 students who have shown examples of the core values throughout their time at Tarleton. Kyla Ritter, Kali Parker, Clare McNiel, Makayla Arthur, Hannah McManus, Bailey Kasberg, Kuke Munchrath, Clara Price, Juan Garcia, Dominic Procaccino, Art Hernandez and Rebecca Williams all received this award.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.